Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 10/5/13 – The Date

with 34 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for how to join in and read the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


 

Thanks to Ted Strutz for this week’s photo.

Copyright-Ted Strutz

Copyright-Ted Strutz

 

The Date (100 words)

I am a fool. Why didn’t I trust myself? I knew he wouldn’t show. Why do I always fall for their patter?

Damn those mirrors everywhere, reflecting the jilted date and her glass of Chardonnay. Only it’s a Cabernet Sauvignon: dryer, sharper, a bit like me.

I’ll finish this and go. I don’t want to leave it half drunk and look even more stupid.

I thought this one might be different. I’d hoped.

I’ll have time to read through tomorrow’s presentation now, have an early night, prepare properly for once.

One last sip and I’m gone.

Too late. He approaches.

 

 

There is a companion piece (from her date’s POV) written for the Two for Tuesday Challenge.

Written by Sarah Ann

May 10, 2013 at 8:30 pm

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] is a companion piece to this (from the woman’s POV) as my Friday Fictioneers […]

  2. Just when you’ve worked out a silver lining, it all changes again. Dating is not for the faint of heart, hehe.

    EagleAye

    May 10, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    • This girl likes keeping her options open. I’m not sure she’d have preferred reading papers to meeting her date. Maybe we’ll never know. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:27 am

  3. I must admit your character is interesting. I read it twice and got a better picture of her, then I read your companion piece… intimidating girl: dry, sharp, likes drinking, and can squeeze the life out of someone with her hands. I hope their date goes well. Really enjoyed the dual POVs.

    Christopher Schuck

    May 10, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    • Thanks for your comment. I don’t know if she really is that intimidating, or if he’s just been out of the game a while and is a bit squeamish about dipping his toe again. Hopefully it’ll work out. Thanks so much for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:29 am

  4. Oh, what a turnaround in that last paragraph! Suddenly I’m wondering if she usually only gives her dates three minutes and not a second more to show up before she escapes 😉

    newpillowbook

    May 10, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    • I thought, too, that at the end she didn’t really want him to show, despite the earlier feel. Indecision, I guess.

      janet

      sustainabilitea

      May 11, 2013 at 1:28 am

      • She’s ready to go with the flow – never too strict with her plans for fear of being disappointed. (I think I need to learn something from her!)

        Sarah Ann

        May 13, 2013 at 10:32 am

    • I think Janet got it with indecision. This girl is ever ready to change her mind, which could get her into trouble later.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:31 am

  5. I enjoyed this. She seemed to move from self pity to self-preservation quite expertly. An interesting haracter.

    Sandra

    May 11, 2013 at 9:21 am

    • Thanks Sandra. She’s becomes a more interesting character with each comment.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:33 am

  6. Dear Sarah,
    A definite set of mixed emotions going on here. Perhaps this date will turn out right and he can soothe some of her cynicism. A good read in any case.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    May 11, 2013 at 11:52 am

    • Hi Rochelle,
      Hopefully it will turn out okay. I think she’s a bit nervy and guarded. We’ll have to wait and see what happens when they start talking.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:38 am

  7. Wicked… good wicked, though.

    buffalostarmedicine

    May 11, 2013 at 2:08 pm

  8. terror stalks first dates from both sexes…
    Randy

    The Writers Village

    May 11, 2013 at 10:48 pm

  9. I longing for a follow-up to find out if he was worth the wait!

    dreaminofobx

    May 11, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    • I am longing…sorry, I need to learn to proofread before I hit “post comment.”

      dreaminofobx

      May 11, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      • I’ll see what next week’s photo brings re: a follow up. And I’m the same – I need to proofread twice before I comment – my spelling was all over the place yesterday.

        Sarah Ann

        May 13, 2013 at 10:40 am

  10. […] commented on today: Friday Fictioneers–Bottles of Hope (Braided Stars)  new blog of the day The Date (Sarah Ann Hall) Hen Party […]

  11. Haha..so funny, my sister described me as a Cabernet just today. Ugh, this could be my story.

    lingeringvisions

    May 12, 2013 at 3:58 am

    • I hope she was complimenting you on your dry wit and sharp mind rather than anything else. And if this is your story, can you let me know how it works out?

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:41 am

      • Yes, that’s exactly what she was saying (we were at a wine tasting). My romantic life is a continuing saga, lol.

        lingeringvisions

        May 13, 2013 at 11:02 am

  12. Maybe she’d be better off if he didn’t approacheth! Good luck to her … and nice job on the prompt.

    • Thanks Perry. Or maybe he’d be safer if her didn’t approach? I’m going to have to think about this scenario a little longer.

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:42 am

  13. She almost made it out, perhaps she should have, we need a sequel…

    Lily Mugford

    May 13, 2013 at 2:02 am

    • My thinking cap is on. I will try to come up with something for next week’s prompt. But the question is, do people want a happy ending or not?

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:43 am

  14. I liked reading the dual POVs (hardly surprising!) and I hope these two get it together. She might just help him feel the confidence he lacks, and he might just soften those sharp edges. Nicely done. 🙂

    • Thanks Joanna for your comment. I’m glad you enjoyed them. And thank you for the ideas of how to take this pair forward – softening edges and confidence building are nice touches. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      May 13, 2013 at 10:45 am

  15. Wonder if he would get over his nervousness by the time he approaches. Don’t think she would tolerate any incoherent speech. well written

    nightlake

    May 13, 2013 at 11:22 am

    • You might be right. In her prickly state, nervousness might have her heading for the door.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  16. I bet the guy was worried about his arrival time too. “Do I go with fashionably late, or arrive early and appear overly anxious?” She needs to have another glass of wine and relax.

    I thought the piece was well written and easy to relate to.

    rgayer55

    May 13, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    • Thanks for that encouraging comment – I like well written and easy to relate to.

      Sarah Ann

      May 15, 2013 at 8:10 pm


Leave a Reply

