Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Shadows

with 6 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie McFerrin posts a one word inspiration. Anyone wishing to participate writes a five sentence story based on the prompt. The word does not have to appear in the five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: SHADOWS

 

shadow

Hiding in the Shadows

I know he’s out there somewhere.

I don’t see him, but I feel him. I know he’s out there searching for me, looking after me.

It’s 17 years since I saw him, since he saw me; 17 years since the day he left for work and didn’t come back.

I know him only through photos, but it’s enough. I will recognise him when I finally find him, and Dad will know me.

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Read the other stories written in response to this prompt.
Written by Sarah Ann

April 30, 2013 at 7:37 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sad yet hopeful. I really like this entry.

    K. Alexander

    April 30, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    • Thank you for your comment. I’m very glad you liked it and let me know.

      Sarah Ann

      May 2, 2013 at 6:39 pm

  2. Such a touching story. Heartfelt and vivid. Hoping for the best possible outcome. Very well written.

    • Thank you, Barbara. I wasn’t sure this story worked so your comment is really welcome.

      Sarah Ann

      May 2, 2013 at 6:39 pm

  3. Sweet and sad. Definitely packs a punch in few words.

    Maggie Grace

    May 1, 2013 at 5:32 am

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting – packing a punch is good, and more than I thought I’d managed.

      Sarah Ann

      May 2, 2013 at 6:42 pm


Leave a Reply

