Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 26/4/13 – The Library

with 33 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for the rules on how to join in and check out the other stories by clicking on the blue guy



Copyright-Claire Fulller

Copyright-Claire Fulller

 

The Library (100 words)

It’s so peaceful in here. This place has always had a hush about it, all sounds squashed by grandmother’s overwhelming reverence for books.

After she died it became the place for calming down after a row, lazing away too-hot summer afternoons, or seeking comfort in winter. Teddy and Lavinia briefly polluted the atmosphere with their grunting, but they’re gone now too.

At the centre of the house, the library watched us all. It rests now.

(The bulldozers tear across the land, the wrecking ball waits to swing.)

And I linger with it, neither of us ready to be moved.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 25, 2013 at 5:50 pm

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the library-as-refuge (and for Teddy and Lavinia, find a more appropriate place!!). But much as I love my books, and would love my library ifI had one, I’m not prepared to go down with it!! Enjoyed the story, though.

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    April 25, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    • I think stripping out the books, shelves and fittings and reinstating the library somewhere else would be my first choice. I don’t think my character is in a good place about losing the home she grew up in.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:33 pm

  2. can empathize with the narrator..a sad take..and well written

    nightlake

    April 26, 2013 at 1:48 am

    • Glad you can empathise – thanks for reading and commenting.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:34 pm

  3. A nicely nostalgic piece. Well done Sarah Ann

    Sandra

    April 26, 2013 at 7:10 am

  4. You’ve made the library almost human – and it (as well as the narrator) is being sacrificed to the bulldozers. An interesting and atmospheric piece. Really enjoyed this.

    elappleby

    April 26, 2013 at 8:08 am

    • I’m very happy you enjoyed it. Atmospheric is good – on re-reading I think it’s a bit miserable.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:28 pm

  5. There’s this question: if there was a fire, what would you grab and run?

    petrujviljoen

    April 26, 2013 at 9:26 am

    • Hmm. That is a question. Something I’ve read or something I want to read? I put the question to my other half who said it would have to be my manuscript (i.e., laptop) as everything else can be re-bought. I haven’t got enough life/ patience/ energy to re-write.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:31 pm

  6. powerful story..

    kz

    April 26, 2013 at 9:29 am

  7. What kz said.

    t

    April 26, 2013 at 2:01 pm

  8. Lovely short story about a place that was the heart of the home.

    erinleary

    April 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    • The library was definitely the heart of this house, I’m not sure what was going on in the kitchen – it felt a bit cold and distant.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:37 pm

  9. I hope Ted and Lavinia weren’t passing gas with their grunts. That would certainly pollute the place. Good story, Sarah Ann.

    rgayer55

    April 26, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    • No, not gas. I think it was the only place with a decent lock so they could get up to their shenanigans. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:40 pm

  10. I can see the relatives fighting over the willl … a library or a garden is the perfect refuge.

    • I’m not sure there’s much family left. I can imagine them fighting over the will too, but my character seemed to think she was the end of the line. I’d love a library as a refuge. I’ll keep dreaming….

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:42 pm

  11. Dear Sarah,
    It’s very clear that the library holds a special in the narrators heart. I really don’t think you need parentheses around the next to the last line. It really is part of the story, not an aside.
    Nicely written. You made me feel the narrator’s pain.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    April 27, 2013 at 11:40 am

    • Hi Rochelle,
      Thanks for letting me know you felt pain. It really helps me to know when my words engender feelings in others. 🙂
      I wasn’t sure about the parentheses. I initially had those three lines as one paragraph, but then the last line. “And I linger with it…” referred back to the waiting wrecking ball. I wasn’t sure the line breaks were enough, hence the (). I needed more words, or to cut somewhere else, to get that ending to work properly.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  12. That’s a very sad ending. Libraries are practically sacred ground.

    David Stewart

    April 27, 2013 at 2:37 pm

  13. I felt the pain at the end! Great writing.

    kdillmanjones

    April 28, 2013 at 1:43 am

  14. Lovely story, sad ending. I hope the books were salvaged before the bulldozers arrived.

    Lora Mitchell

    April 29, 2013 at 6:59 am

    • I’m sure they were. It was a sad and lonely library about to be knocked down.

      Sarah Ann

      April 30, 2013 at 3:58 pm

  15. We all want that place of refuge. It sounds as though time is coming to evacuate forever!

    Joe Owens

    April 29, 2013 at 6:48 pm

  16. Excellent tale, beautifully told.
    Loved it.

    anelephantcant

    April 29, 2013 at 10:01 pm

  17. Oh, how sad.

    lingeringvisions

    May 10, 2013 at 6:40 am


Leave a Reply

