Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Trifextra: Week 64 – charge, century, lost

with 18 comments

This weekend’s Trifextra callenge was tough. Well, I found it so.

 

‘This weekend we’re asking for exactly 33 of your own words plus the following three words:

  • charge
  • century
  • lost

So 33 of yours plus 3 of ours means that everyone will have a 36 word response this time around.’

 

–––––

The earth lost the last charge of the century war. Trees lay shattered, seas flowed turbid with corpses, the air wafted putrefaction.

Beyond the gloaming the sun shines on. With humans eradicated, the planet slowly recovers.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 21, 2013 at 10:28 pm

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is so good! Tragic but beautifully told.

    Suzanne

    April 21, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Suzanne – I like beautifully told.

      Sarah Ann

      April 23, 2013 at 1:24 pm

  2. This is really good.

    deanabo

    April 21, 2013 at 11:54 pm

  3. Given a sea turbid with corpses, I should have been expecting the eradication of humans. But I wasn’t. Great write!

    KymmInBarcelona

    April 22, 2013 at 12:01 am

    • I wasn’t sure as I was writing if all the humans were completely gone. It seems the muse had other ideas.

      Sarah Ann

      April 23, 2013 at 1:41 pm

  4. Great imagery. The last line is pay dirt.

    rangewriter

    April 22, 2013 at 1:09 am

    • I’m glad to images worked – it took a while to come up with the words I felt worked best.

      Sarah Ann

      April 23, 2013 at 1:40 pm

  5. I like this one a lot. I can see it.

    trifectawriting

    April 22, 2013 at 2:42 am

  6. Well that’s just chipper 😉 haha I like this! A different take on the words!

    Draug419

    April 22, 2013 at 4:20 am

  7. This was bleak, mostly because I see the truth in the last line.

    jannatwrites

    April 22, 2013 at 5:42 am

    • Apologies for bleak. The only cheerful things I could think of were cricket-related (yawn).

      Sarah Ann

      April 23, 2013 at 1:32 pm

  8. Stark & frightening picture of a future that may well be!Your fantastic writing conjured up some pretty grim images Sarah:-)

    atrm61

    April 22, 2013 at 10:08 am

  9. I’ve never tried any challenge less than 100 words, Sarah. This must be so tough! You did a great job.

    • Thanks Joanna. I like the 33-word challenges, they really concentrate the mind. If you can come up with an idea (my main problem) cutting and refining down to 33-words is an exciting challenge.

      Sarah Ann

      April 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm


Leave a Reply

