Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Two For Tuesday #3 – The Rule of Three

with 2 comments

I came across the Two for Tuesday Challenge from Andy Black on Brian Benoit’s blog who has written a great series of stories on these prompts. Mine is much less profound.

 

‘#3 — April 9 – 15

Standard prompt:
black magic

You have lots of creative leeway. The limit is 200 words.

Non-Standard Prompt:
This week I am asking you to create a story comprised entirely of  dialogue….. Per usual with the Non-standard prompt there is no word limit but there is a minimum of 200 words.’

–––––

This will probably be the first and last time I manage to fulfil both criteria!

–––––

 

The Rule of Three (259 words)

‘I hate Amelia. She borrowed my pencil and dropped it and now the lead breaks every time I sharpen it. I hate her I hate her I hate her.’

‘Maisie, calm down’

‘I don’t want to. I hate her. I hope her head falls off.’

‘Maisie! What have I told you about the rule of three?’

‘I hope her head falls off. I hope her head falls off. I –‘

‘Maisie, that is not the rule of three. Try to remember.’

‘It’s something to do with spells?’

‘Not exactly.’

‘Make sure you cast your spells well in case they work on you instead?’

‘The rule of three states that whatever you send out into the world will be returned to you threefold.’

‘But that’s only with black magic.’

‘There is no white and black magic. There are only good and bad thoughts and good and bad actions.’

‘So what do I have to do to make Amelia’s head fall off?’

‘Have you been listening to me at all?’

‘Oh all right. I shouldn’t wish for Amelia’s head to fall off in case three bad things happen to me.’

‘Good. Now how could you make the situation better?’

‘Amelia might have an accident that was nothing to do with me.’

‘I’ve got a better idea. Why don’t we replace your pencil, and buy one for Amelia. No more borrowing, no more accidents, no more frayed tempers.’

‘And three other people might give me things too.’

‘That isn’t the point –‘

‘No, but it is possible.’

‘Yes, Maisie, anything is possible.’

 

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 15, 2013 at 9:28 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicely done and a great job of fulfilling both prompts in one piece. Great dialogue that is clearly defined without tags. A very enjoy read. Thanks for playing along!

    ahblack57

    April 15, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    • Thanks for the comment, and for hosting. I’m looking forward to more devilish challenges.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2013 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

