Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

100 WCGU – Camp

with 3 comments

Here’s my entry into this week’s 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups hosted by Julia’s Place.

 

‘My football team was promoted on Saturday. It was a good game but as you can imagine had lots of tense moments in it. I know many of you do not follow football / soccer so I hope the prompt is wide enough for you.

It is:

….as the line was crossed….

You can write in any genre but please stick to the 105 words.’

–––––

 

Camp (105 words)

I ended up at Guides because Tuesday was Mum’s night to see Jim. I ended up at camp because Jim took Mum away for the weekend.

It rained constantly. We filled the time with snail races.

Theirs were prettified with nail varnish; mine the small and weedy one. They cheered and whooped; I watched. All eyes turned to me as the line was crossed first by mine.

We had a re-run, then another. Suddenly I was imbued with the snail’s characteristics. I had unseen talents.

When Mum broke up with Jim and I insisted on continuing to see my friends, she was quite put out.

 

100WCGU (7)

Written by Sarah Ann

April 14, 2013 at 11:01 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this. Snails really are beautiful animals. I had a water snail called Cornelius. He lived for about six years and grew to be fairly big.

    The Real Cie

    April 15, 2013 at 8:55 am

  2. Reblogged this on The Cheese Whines and commented:
    I love this. Snails really are beautiful animals. I had a water snail called Cornelius. He lived for about six years and grew to be fairly big.

    The Real Cie

    April 15, 2013 at 8:55 am


Leave a Reply

