Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 12/4/13 – In a Pickle

with 37 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry. Every Friday (or before ) the Friday Fictioners post their 100-word stories.

Visit Rochelle’s site for the rules on how to join in and check out the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


–––––

I didn’t know what to do with Sandra Crook’s photo this week – hubby came up with the ideas and backstory.

 

Sandra Crook

copyright – Sandra Crook

 

In a Pickle (100 words)

‘Where are my bottling lids?’ Kim stood at the door, arms crossed.

‘You hadn’t used them.’

‘I didn’t use them last year because we had no fruit.’

‘Oh.’

‘Jed?’

‘I – er – ‘ He cast a glance towards the veranda.

‘You didn’t.’

‘Kim, I –‘

‘For months I’ve endured torches crackling and mind-numbing bashing. You’ve passed by as a dirty grit ghost, only visible at mealtimes. I’ve cleaned your clothes, scrubbed rings off the bath. And now you’re saying you’ve used my grandmother’s jar lids as part of your trike?’

Jed nodded.

‘Then you’d better get your torch and start dismantling.’

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 12, 2013 at 5:49 pm

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Sarah,
    There’s a use for canning lids I hadn’t thought of. Poor Jed, an unappreciated artist. I am, however, appreciative of your whimsical story.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    rochellewisoff

    April 12, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    • Hi Rochelle,
      I think Kim appreciates his art, if only he’d ask before he used anything he thinks is lying around doing nothing.
      I’m happy you enjoyed it.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:27 am

  2. I like your title, first of all, and enjoyed your story as well. I’d be interested to see how she’s going to get them back into good enough shape to use for canning! 🙂

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    April 12, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    • I think Jed might have to spend some time filing, sanding and reshaping. Although hubby suggests ebay and buying replacements might be a better bet.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:29 am

  3. Now I know what to do with those unused canning lids! Novel idea 🙂

    JackieP

    April 12, 2013 at 6:32 pm

  4. I’d be mad too. Great take on the story.

    • Thank you. The phrase incandescent with rage springs to mind. I think Kim was quite calm in comparison to how I’d react

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:32 am

  5. This was funny; I enjoyed it very much… I could feel her disbelief then frustration and final consternation; his guilt was tangiblet too… So engaging..!

    carolynpageabc

    April 12, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    • Thank you for your great comment – I’m very happy all those feelings came across.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:32 am

  6. How about attaching the pickling jars to the bike? That’ll teach him – and be a nice ornamental hanger for your food stuffs… Randy
    Cute story

    The Writers Village

    April 12, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    • That’s a great idea Randy – a novel storage solution and colourful to boot. Thank you!

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:34 am

  7. All that creativity will be destroyed. A fun twist from the photo prompt.

    silently Kim

    April 12, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    • Hi Kim,
      Not destroyed, maybe adapted a little. He could used another sort of lid…

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:35 am

  8. this was a deconstructive use of the prompt, you came up with quite an original story

    billgncs

    April 12, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    • Thanks Bill. But the credit for the story has to go to hubby. I just gave structure to his ideas.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:36 am

  9. Nice use of the prompt there Sarah Ann its good to have a little nudge sometimes. 🙂

    jwdwrites

    April 12, 2013 at 11:51 pm

  10. Liked it too. Sounds exactly like the kind of thing I would’ve done: use the lids for something creative. In fact, have done and got into similar trouble.

    petrujviljoen

    April 13, 2013 at 11:13 am

    • Oops. Tell us more. What did you use that you shouldn’t have? There’s always a danger in our household that something left lying around in the workshop might be used by the other. I do make sure I ask before taking anything.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:39 am

      • dinner plates to mix paint on, plastic holders to preserve food to preserve paint rather, kitchen knives to carve and scrape, etc, etc. Luckily I live alone now and don’t get into trouble with anybody but myself. When I miss something in the kitchen I go to the workshop and if it is still usable I bring it back.

        petrujviljoen

        April 14, 2013 at 9:44 am

      • I can see you’re every homemaker’s nightmare, but I do relate to finding things in the workshop that should be in the kitchen.

        Sarah Ann

        April 14, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      • If I knew how to put a smiley here like I’ve seen other people do I would have.

        petrujviljoen

        April 14, 2013 at 12:50 pm

  11. I laughed twice! First that he’d built it from lids, and second that he had to take it all apart!

    yerpirategunn

    April 13, 2013 at 7:20 pm

    • Laughing is good. Maybe he won’t have to take it all apart, just far enough to retrieve KIm’s lids.

      Sarah Ann

      April 14, 2013 at 9:42 am

  12. Nice dialog, Sara Ann.

    tedstrutz

    April 13, 2013 at 11:30 pm

  13. great story – I love the ‘dirty grit ghost’ – wouldn’t want to live with him though 🙂

    elappleby

    April 14, 2013 at 10:39 am

    • Thanks EL. I liked the dirty grit ghost too. He’d need to scrub his own bath rings for me to be able to live with him though.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2013 at 8:19 pm

  14. Hi Sarah Ann
    I’m with Jed in this one. ‘Been there – done that’ and had the bruises to prove it!

    Nick Johns

    April 14, 2013 at 2:01 pm

    • What did you borrow that you shouldn’t have? Thanks for stopping by.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2013 at 8:20 pm

  15. oh but i like what he did with the bottling lids. lol ^^ great fun story. enjoyed reading this ^^

    kz

    April 14, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    • I think he only used the bottling lids to embellish, so he won’t have to destroy the whole thing when he removes them. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      April 16, 2013 at 8:15 pm

  16. Cute title and entertaining story. Well done.

    rgayer55

    April 16, 2013 at 3:02 am

  17. Whoops, not a great idea to gather scrap from the kitchen. Just when something seems to have no use they come looking.

    Joe Owens

    April 16, 2013 at 4:23 pm


Leave a Reply

