Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Words

with 5 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie McFerrin posts a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week:  WORDS.

–––––

I’m late again this week but didn’t know what to do with Lilie’s prompt until I heard Iain Banks’ news. My paean to Iain is probably gushy and trite. It in no way does his work justice – go read for yourself. It’s not a fiction piece either so I’m testing Lillie’s rules. Hopefully it could be applied, at least partially, to any author you love.)

–––––

You have shown me countries I will never visit, taken me to worlds I can only dream of, and transported me to other dimensions.

You have given me characters to love and loathe, jokers to laugh with, killers to be fearful of, lovers to climb into bed with, and brains to be intrigued by.

You have taught me new words, spoken with different accents and voices, written in dialect and demonstrated the nuance of language.

I am unable to put into words what yours have given me. Thank you for sharing the niches and corners of your imagination.

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Written by Sarah Ann

April 9, 2013 at 1:45 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely true. Well written piece. We do learn and absorb much from the written word.

    Barbara A Mizzoni Young

    April 10, 2013 at 12:34 am

  2. “I am unable to put into words what yours have given me”
    Methinks thou hath misspoke…. your words seemed perfect.
    Randy

    The Writers Village

    April 10, 2013 at 1:21 am

    • Thank you Randy. But there’s oh so much more to say, and in a better manner, if only my brain would engage.

      Sarah Ann Hall

      April 10, 2013 at 1:32 pm

  3. Such a beautifully-worded tribute. Any writer would feel that their life’s work had been worthwhile upon receiving this. I went to the link and read about his cancer. How very sad.

    injaynesworld

    April 10, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    • Thank you. It is sad, but he’s making the most of the time he has left, which can only be good.

      Sarah Ann

      April 12, 2013 at 11:10 am


Leave a Reply

