Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#VisDare 13 – Atmospheric – The Crossing

with 7 comments

After spending the weekend celebrating with family, I’m now working for some of them on a kitchen refit. Time to write is shorter than normal, so my VisDare entry is late (as usual).

My first though on seeing Angela’s prompt this week was trolls, but Björn wrote a troll story that I didn’t dare compete with. My second thought was the fog of illness, but I got bogged down in misery, before ending up with something more pedestrian.

 

RULES:
150 words – or less.
Post entry to your blog.
(Please – no erotica or graphic violence.)
As always – thanks for participating!
The Crossing (124 words)

In a drought summer, the lake shrinks to give sight of an ancient causeway. As the waters rose through history, the stone pavement gave way to a succession of bridges, only the memories of which remain.

Today, a steel and concrete road flies across the sky. Down below archaeologists scrape away at the past. Earth is excavated, clay cut and sand sifted in their timeless search. As long as the sun and pool allow, they return with trowels, sieves, brushes, and boundless hope, seeking bronze sword hilts, votive statues or pottery shards.

As autumn comes, the rain fills trenches, deluges grids, flows down the rivers, and the mere rises. The anthropologists flee to their homes leaving the offerings of their ancestors once more enshrouded.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

April 2, 2013 at 9:34 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this – so thoughtful and incisive, a mirror-like commentary on the past and the present. Your other two ideas sounded wonderful — and who’s to say we have to stop at one troll story? — but this is a refreshing spin among the ghoulish entries this go-round. Well done!

  2. […] saw Sara Ann Hall’s blog about a bridge which was in response to what I thought was this week’s VisDare, which it was […]

  3. I saw your picture and read your story, and was moved by both.

    I thought the picture was actually from VisDare and so I began to write my own story in response to the picture. When I went to post it on VisDare, I saw that my thinking was wrong – but your picture and what I had written still felt right. So, I posted it anyways. I am linking it here also as it more so belongs with your blog then with VisDare. Thank you for the inspiration. Randy

    http://thewritersvillage.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/the-view-from-the-bridge-visdare-and-sarah-ann-hall/

    The Writers Village

    April 6, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    • Hi Randy,
      You’re right it is a VisDare prompt. Only I was so late posting, Angela and Anonynous Legacy have moved on to the lady and the duck. I’m very happy that my story inspired you. Yours is gorgeous – the imagery and ideas beautiful, and beautifully written.

      Sarah Ann

      April 6, 2013 at 6:13 pm

  4. Lovely writing, Sarah; I especially like the “boundless hope” and the road flying across the sky. Sorry I don’t get to visit here more often!

    • Thank you for visiting when you can. It’s lovely to hear from you.

      Sarah Ann

      April 12, 2013 at 11:09 am


Leave a Reply

