Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

WIP Update – March ’13

leave a comment »

Recently, I’ve been having too much fun, and spending too much time, on flash fiction challenges to post much about my WIPs.

My title-less WIP, about a woman suffering from ovarian cancer, has gone to four beta readers – three female, one male, age range 25 to 65 – and should be with a couple more (both female) soon.

The first two months of A Year in 200 Words have been collated and printed. I’ve read through once and, when I’ve made the initial changes, I plan to read again to highlight names and events that need some back-story. I came up with a list of questions that need addressing before I go much further, but writing something everyday (even if it is only about the weather) is helping to keep my mind plotting. I’ve had an idea for the overall theme of the story and know  why my character is keeping a diary. She has a goal of writing a minimum of 200 words per day; if she goes over it’s not going to do any harm, and can only promote the reader’s understanding of her and her story. I now need to stop reading other people’s blog posts and work out jobs, names, places, character traits, food preferences, and so on, to be carried through the rest of the year.

Written by Sarah Ann

March 28, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

