Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Līgo Haībun Challenge ~ “And We Danced…”

with 12 comments

This is my first attempt at a Līgo Haībun challenge. I have never written a haiku before so be gentle with me, but constructive criticism is welcomed.

–––––

The haībun format here for the Līgo Haībun Challenge is as follows ~

paragraph (more than one paragraph is fine, or just a few sentences) in prose form of either

  • a descriptive passage , or excerpt from a story/or previously published post
  • an explanation 
  • a tale
  • a travelogue
  • a news item
  • a recipe

and

  • the haiku/collection of haiku related to the text  to close. The haiku should be as authentic as possible, with therefore no syllable count, no capitals or full stop.

The expression does not have to be used exactly as it is. Remember the word limit is normally if not formally 220 words, including the haiku, and more than 1 haiku is fine.’

–––––

Before we moored for winter, I had managed to persuade hubby to come along with me for salsa lessons, if I could find some.

I went online and found nothing available locally. The library was useless – providing only ‘educational’ prospectuses. The leisure centre offers zumba or tea dances. The art centre has a choir, but no dance. The dance school offers ballet and tap classes.

For some reason I tried the internet again this week and, hey presto, I found where we can learn to salsa. We’re setting off on our summer travels in three weeks.

 

winter salsa planned

information came too late

next year salsa queen

Ligo Hai badge

 

Written by Sarah Ann

March 18, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Posted in Haibun

Tagged with , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. glad to see you joined the haibun challenge! 🙂 it’s a great start. have fun with your salsa lessons 🙂 belly dancing lessons still on my to-do list ^^

    kz

    March 19, 2013 at 7:49 am

    • Thanks for commenting, kz. Good luck with the belly dancing – I’m not brave enough.

      Sarah Ann

      March 19, 2013 at 9:32 pm

  2. That was a nice haiku actually! Welcome and I enjoyed that, thanks!

    yepiratehere

    March 19, 2013 at 7:54 am

  3. this was a very nice beginning:))

    nightlake

    March 19, 2013 at 9:10 am

  4. Very nice 🙂 haiku is at the same time very difficult and extremely easy. You did very good.

    • Thank you, Björn. Can you expand on very difficult and extremely easy? I might be coming to you for tips when I get stuck.

      Sarah Ann

      March 19, 2013 at 9:34 pm

      • I have been writing haiku for about 1,5 years now. Initially I mostly counted syllables… Sometimes I added even it sounded right. Now I have almost ceased to count, and mostly it become less than 575.. The other thing I try to do is to let two thoughts meet, so you get that nice “twist” (or maybe juxtaposition) in the last ku. Writing daily on my blog and on twitter helps me improve. You can always try the Carpe Diem prompt, where Kristjaan is an excellent haiku teacher.

      • Thank you for the advice. I’ve got the 575 bit. It’s the juxtaposition I think I’ll have most problems with. There’s not a lot of space/ words/ syllables to have disparate thoughts going on.

        Sarah Ann

        March 21, 2013 at 4:20 pm

  5. Fun haiku. Brought an image and a smile to my face…the salsa queen!

    Peripatetic Eric

    March 22, 2013 at 1:50 am


Leave a Reply

