Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Whisper

with 16 comments

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie McFerrin posts a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: WHISPER

–––––

Hello dear, I’m Ada from next door, and welcome to the neighbourhood.

I’ve heard so much about you from Scarlet at the gym. You know Scarlet – long legs, sparkly green eyes, blonde hair, knows everything about everybody?

Well, I must say, you’re not at all what I was expecting from what she told me, oh no, not at all: you’re far taller and prettier and your smile looks very genuine to me.

Now dear, I’ve just baked some scones, the kettle’s on, and it would be lovely to get to know you a bit better, especially as we’re going to be neighbours, so how do you fancy a cup of tea?

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Written by Sarah Ann

March 11, 2013 at 5:11 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice! Apropos of my latest blog post. 🙂 Nice to meet you.

    Rick Mallery

    March 11, 2013 at 5:16 pm

  2. This sounds like my neighbor when I moved in. Great post.

    deanabo

    March 11, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    • Did she bring scones? Does she read your blog? Thanks for stopping by.

      Sarah Ann

      March 12, 2013 at 9:54 pm

      • She walked up to me and said, “Hi Im (name here). I know everything about everybody on this street.” I laughed and she told me she was very serious. lol

        deanabo

        March 12, 2013 at 10:16 pm

      • And have you had much to do with her since? Maybe it safest not to.

        Sarah Ann

        March 14, 2013 at 1:33 pm

  3. Ahh, the neighborhood busy body who makes it her business to get the lowdown on everyone’s doings, especially folks that are new. The backhanded compliments she’s dishing out says it all. My advice to the newcomer… shut the curtains and lock the door! 🙂 This was a great read, so true to life!

    Josie Two Shoes

    March 12, 2013 at 2:45 am

    • Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 I think shutting the curtains might be a good idea.

      Sarah Ann

      March 12, 2013 at 9:50 pm

  4. Ah, the welcome wagon lady with the waggin’ tongue. Well done!

    McGuffy Ann

    March 12, 2013 at 4:31 am

  5. Liked the flow of the fiction. Easy reading, would love to read the extended part. 🙂

    If you have time, would you consider reading a short story of mine and help me with some tips?
    Please .. http://yourstoryclub.com/short-stories-love/funny-love-story-met-her-in-bank/

    Ankit Raj Bachchan

    March 12, 2013 at 10:00 am

  6. Enjoyed how you established the scene. I could easily visualize this busy-body at the door trying to entice and extract more secrets from the new neighbor.

    injaynesworld

    March 12, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    • Thank you for your comments – they’re really encouraging.

      Sarah Ann

      March 14, 2013 at 1:29 pm

  7. Wow. I didn’t even know you knew the lady that lives across the street from me!

    Nice take on the prompt!

    K R Smith

    March 13, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    • Neither did I, but thanks for letting me know so we can both try to avoid her.

      Sarah Ann

      March 14, 2013 at 1:33 pm

  8. Really enjoyed this! We all know someone with these skills, lol!

    Lisa Shambrook

    March 15, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by and giving me a new perspective. I hadn’t looked on them as skills before….

      Sarah Ann

      March 18, 2013 at 5:57 pm


Leave a Reply

