Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Trifextra: Week 57 – Coming, ready or not…

with 24 comments

For the weekend challenge Trifecta asked for exactly thirty-three words written in first person narrative.

 

Coming, ready or not…. (read with sing-song lilt to voice)

I’m coming to get you.

I’ve missed you so. It’s been far too long. We need to catch up.

I promise I won’t hurt you too much. But you did let me down.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

March 2, 2013 at 6:49 pm

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Somebody’s got it coming!

    joetwo

    March 2, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    • Yes, but why? These stories that develop from prompts sometimes leave more questions than answers. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:13 pm

  2. Chilling!

    deanabo

    March 2, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    • Thanks. I wasn’t sure. It’s so difficult to know how something will be read, especially with so few words.

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:04 pm

  3. ominous

    barbara

    March 2, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    • More so now after reading everyone’s comments. Thanks for reading.

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:05 pm

  4. Eeee!No!Run before he/she catches you!;-)
    Loved this deliciously awful tale-can become great opening lines for a full fledged chiller Sarah-well
    done:-)

    atrm61

    March 2, 2013 at 10:11 pm

  5. Oh, I don’t know, it could go either way… couldn’t it?

    kymminbarcelona

    March 2, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    • Definitely. I wasn’t sure what was going on when I wrote it. First person narrative wasn’t a very tight prompt to work with. I find things easier when the rules are more prescriptive.

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:07 pm

  6. Creepy .. Can’t go well.

    • I’m glad you got creepy. It didn’t start out that way. And then I got to the last sentence…

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:08 pm

  7. Count to 10? Chills.

    ramblingsfromamum

    March 3, 2013 at 4:28 am

  8. I think I’ve been there. Well done!

    Lumdog

    March 3, 2013 at 2:00 pm

  9. I love those last two lines. So much suggested…muah-ha-ha

    Draug419

    March 3, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  10. Ooh, this is really cool! Sweet and sinister at the same time. Great job!

    Suzanne

    March 3, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    • Thank you. It started off sweet and then I needed to reach the word limit, which is when it took its sinister turn. Odd how things develop through the editing process.

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:10 pm

  11. ….Why did you make me read it in a sing-song voice?
    Wasn’t it creepy enough already?! o___O
    Haha, nicely done.

    lovethebadguy

    March 3, 2013 at 10:30 pm

    • Sorry. I thought it might be a bit flat without the sing-song voice. Hope it didn’t creep you out too much.

      Sarah Ann

      March 4, 2013 at 2:11 pm

  12. I liked it! (and I used a sing-song voice too)

    tedstrutz

    March 3, 2013 at 11:34 pm


Leave a Reply

