Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FiveSentenceFiction – Abandoned

with 10 comments

I’m ever so late with this, considering Lillie McFerrin will be posting another prompt tomorrow. Still, these stories have been mulling for long enough now.

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week Lillie posts a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in your five sentences, just use it for direction.

This week: ABANDONED

 

I wanted to look at both sides of abandon – the negative (loss) and the positive (being carefree). Unfortunately, the positive story ended up with a bit a negative ending….

 

 

Abandoned 1 – Loss

How many more times do I call before letting go? I have emailed, sent texts, phoned and left messages. I don’t want this friendship to end. But I think it’s too late. Our friendship has abandoned us.

 

Abandon 2 – A Gung-ho Attitude

Sally saw every challenge as an opportunity. She grabbed at every new experience with both hands. As she threw herself off the paragliding cliff, she whooped for joy and abandoned herself to fate.

The earth rushed towards her in its usual carefree way.

Giving the eulogy, Sally’s father praised his daughter’s ebullient approach to life through his tears.

 

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes
Written by Sarah Ann

February 26, 2013 at 8:47 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like both sides of this, however I am drawn to the first. I think it is happens to everyone at some time.

    McGuffy Ann

    February 27, 2013 at 1:09 am

    • Thanks for stopping by. Yes, it’s unfortunate but inevitable to lose a friendship at some point.

      Sarah Ann

      February 27, 2013 at 8:42 pm

  2. The first one touched my heart … and the 2nd one made me sit up and re-read … amazing both of them !!!

    Green Speck

    February 27, 2013 at 8:16 am

  3. Hey, I was later than you! People can still read them and enjoy! I liked the second one best – partly because I learned a new word – ebullient.

    K R Smith

    February 27, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    • I tend to be late with most things…
      Glad you learned a new word and enjoyed reading. I think I prefer the second one, maybe because the first one is a little close to home at the moment.

      Sarah Ann

      February 28, 2013 at 4:05 pm

  4. Ebullient is a great word, and I wish I could embrace it more, however not with the same results as your second piece! lol

    Lisa Shambrook

    February 28, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    • Embrace being ebullient, but be safe at the same time. You won’t find me paragliding. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 28, 2013 at 4:01 pm

  5. I do love the second entry best. It catches you unaware and makes you go back to read it again for meaning.

    Lynda

    February 28, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    • Thank you. The second one took a while to work out – trying not to make the direction it was going in too obvious, but not wanting the last sentence to stand out and jar. I’m pleased you liked it.

      Sarah Ann

      February 28, 2013 at 8:40 pm


Leave a Reply

