Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

VisDare 8: Listening – A Little of What You Fancy

with 6 comments

I’ve been looking at Visual Dare from Anonymous Legacy for a while and not getting anywhere. The photos have resulted in ethereal ideas that didn’t gel. Until this week.

 

RULES:

150 words – or less.
Post entry to your blog and “link in” using the link tool below.

No blog? Post your 150 words in the comments below.

(Please – no erotica or graphic violence.)

As always – thanks for participating!

____________

A Little of What You Fancy (150 words)

What are you staring at? It’s early. I haven’t peed anywhere.

The cleaners are good, but they miss things. I’m checking for southern fried chicken or kebab lying about. It might have fallen behind the heating grill, and that won’t make for a pleasant journey later. Think of me as doing you a service, you might think better of me.

The bones in chicken can be tricky, and I’m not keen on chilli sauce or salad, but the kebab meat’s good. Human food can leave a cat with a thirst, but it beats chewing on a fat rat or crunching through yet another stringy mouse.

I had my best meal ever on a train. Some lady on her way home from the fishmonger’s had a turn. They carted her off in an ambulance, left her shopping behind. My family and I feasted that day.

Now scram. I gotta get on.

Written by Sarah Ann

February 24, 2013 at 5:08 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A cat’s POV. Terrific! 🙂

    Sania

    February 24, 2013 at 6:17 pm

  2. I love the cats view!

    deanabo

    February 24, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    • Thanks. There was something about his/her stance that said ‘attitude’ to me.

      Sarah Ann

      February 24, 2013 at 8:34 pm

  3. Love the POV, the tone, the pacing. Nice use of smells and texture to get the reader into a cat’s mind. Great characterization. So glad you jumped in next week! New VisDare goes live in 9 minutes (at the time that I’m typing this) — I think maybe the next photo will be more your style as well…..or at least I hope so!! Hope to see more VisDares from you soon!!

    Angela Goff (@Angela_Goff)

    February 27, 2013 at 5:52 am

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I really enjoyed being a cat for a moment.
      Thanks too for VisDare – am off to see this week’s photo now. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 27, 2013 at 8:47 pm


Leave a Reply

