Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

My Grandson’s Holiday – 100WCGU

with one comment

 

At Julia’s Place, last Monday’s prompt for the 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups was:

… what does it taste like…

You get 100 words plus the number in the prompt, so I’m a little short. Here’s my very unpolished take – comments welcomed.

–––––

 

My Grandson’s Holiday (101 words)

It’s half-term. I have my 7-year-old grandson to stay while my daughter works. At the Natural History Museum, he gawps at the dinosaurs. Walking in Covent Garden, he wonders at the mime artists’ ability to ignore his acrobatic antics.

We take lunch at a Chinese buffet and I watch astonished as he helps himself to sushi, eats Singapore noodles using chopsticks, and rolls duck pancakes with aplomb.

At home, exhausted, I ask if he’d like beans on toast for supper.

He stares. ‘What does it taste like?’

I roll my eyes. What has my daughter been feeding him?

 

 

100WCGU (7)

Written by Sarah Ann

February 24, 2013 at 3:23 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great!!!

    zennjennc

    February 24, 2013 at 10:02 pm


Leave a Reply

