Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Trifextra: Week 55 – Hyperbole -The Sandwich

with 18 comments

For this weekend’s challenge Trifecta asked writers to include some hyperbole in their pieces.

It doesn’t have to be the whole piece, but it needs to be in there, and we’re looking for 33 words, as usual.’ 

I tried not to be too obvious, but it wasn’t working, until I found something mundane to talk about.

 –––––

 

The Sandwich (33-words)

‘Mum made me the biggest sandwich ever for lunch. It was as huge as a house, had as many layers as there are pages in a book.’

‘Cheese and pickle again then?’

‘Yeah.’

 

 

Check out the other stories here.

Written by Sarah Ann

February 17, 2013 at 10:45 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Liked this, almost as much as I like cheese and pickle. (But only Branston). 🙂 Nice one.

    Sandra

    February 17, 2013 at 11:28 am

    • Thanks, Sandra. How do you go about getting Branston en France?

      Sarah Ann

      February 17, 2013 at 2:20 pm

      • We take it with us, along with lots of things we can’t get over there. Then before we return we fill the coolbox with things we can’t get in the UK. 🙂

        Sandra

        February 17, 2013 at 4:42 pm

  2. mmm. off to make a sandwich I go!

    deanabo

    February 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm

  3. Cheese and pickle…? Never heard of it. I like both though, so maybe I’ll try them together sometime (:

    Draug419

    February 17, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    • Cheese and pickle sandwiches are traditional in the UK – and can get a tad boring day after day.
      Not sure your pickle will be the same as ours. This is what we mean by pickle: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Branston_%28food%29
      I think we call yours gherkins – and I might have to try those in a cheese sandwich now I’ve thought of it….

      Sarah Ann

      February 17, 2013 at 8:46 pm

  4. Food and hyperbole go so well together!

    KymmInBarcelona

    February 17, 2013 at 6:10 pm

  5. OMG! I love cheese and pickle! Especially heated under the broiler.

    Jennifer Dillon

    February 17, 2013 at 8:57 pm

  6. Ok. Now I’m hungry. With such a huge sandwich, I was hoping you’d share! 😉

    Lumdog

    February 17, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    • I would share willingly, but I’m not sure about my protagonist.

      Sarah Ann

      February 20, 2013 at 11:59 am

  7. Oh, I LOVED cheese and pickle sandwiches when I was in London. LOVED them. Miss it so much… 😦

    I used to buy them all the time in Waitrose before and after class. My favorite was the Ploughman’s sandwich. I miss London so much…so sad now… 😦 My best time in my life.

    Scriptor Obscura

    February 17, 2013 at 11:29 pm

  8. Oh, and I loved Jaffa cakes too…all the British foods… SIGH… so sad now… wish I could go back. I want to be there right now. 😦

    Scriptor Obscura

    February 17, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    • Sounds like I need to set up a mail order food supplies business. My brother lives in Australia and misses Bisto. The Australians have started importing Marmite again so we don’t have to send that any more, thankfully, as the postage cost more than the spread.
      I’m glad my story provoked some happy memories for you. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 20, 2013 at 12:03 pm

  9. Nice one! 🙂

    joetwo

    February 18, 2013 at 10:47 pm


Leave a Reply

