Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#Friday Fictioneers – 15/2/13 – Truth or Dare

with 36 comments

Every Wednesday Rochelle Wisoff-Fields publishes a photo prompt to stimulate and inspire writers to write 100-words of flash fiction or poetry.

Every Friday (or before) the Friday Fictioneers post their 100-word stories. Visit Rochelle’s site for the rules on how to join in and check out the other stories by clicking on the blue guy.


______________

Sticking with the genre idea, I had planned to put myself in a ‘crime’ straightjacket this week, but a couple of characters forced their way out of the photo instead. Hope the titles are self-explanatory.

 

copyright-David Stewart

copyright-David Stewart

 

(Earthbound) Truth or Dare (97 words)

Man alive. What have they done to me? I don’t seem to be able to move.

The backs of my legs are screaming. My right knee thinks it’s been stabbed. Is this what gout feels like?

Where am I? Oh shit. Not the main square. Why have they put me here?

I know I pissed a few people off with the goat joke, but this is ridiculous. The forfeits are getting way over the top now.

What did they spike my drink with this time?

Hey, where are my clothes?

I need to stop playing this game.

 

 

(Star Trek inspired) Truth or Dare (99 words)

Man alive. My head’s clanging like a bell.

Where am I? How’d I get here?

I’ve got to stop drinking so much.

The sun’s stabbing my eyes. Need to look around, work out where I am.

Curly upturning eaves. China?

Why can’t I move my head? Why can’t I move anything?

The bastards. They spread bronze dust over the transporter plate.

Where are they? I bet they’re around here somewhere, giggling behind their hands. Bet they come and piss on my feet later.

God my legs hurt.

Energising speeds up the bonding process.

How long ‘til it wears off?

Written by Sarah Ann

February 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm

36 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I enjoyed both! But as I watch Star Trek, that one is my favourite. Both good stories.
    Ron and I must go back to writing interlocking tales, it’s more fun that way! 😀

    • Two entertaining takes.
      Both amusing and well done.

      anelephantcant

      February 15, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    • Thanks, Joanna. When I cheat and do two stories, I like to see how the comments split on which one is preferred. And I’m glad that as Star Trek fan the second one worked for you. It’s so long since I watched I had to check with my other half the correct terminology.
      Looking forward to some more interlinked tales from you and Ron soon.

      Sarah Ann

      February 16, 2013 at 9:35 pm

  2. “I know I pissed a few people off with the goat joke” <–love this!

    Bee

    February 15, 2013 at 10:51 pm

  3. Wow, that must have been a rough night!!

    janet

    sustainabilitea

    February 15, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    • Yep. Thankfully, it was all imagined. Actually, I only imagined the morning after. I have no idea what he was getting up to the night before.

      Sarah Ann

      February 16, 2013 at 9:32 pm

  4. Nice! I enjoyed both of these.

    deanabo

    February 15, 2013 at 11:23 pm

  5. Both are very creative, original and nicely conceived stories, Sarah. I like the idea of the statue returning to life.

    The Bumble Files

    February 16, 2013 at 1:28 am

  6. hahaha, loved this little gem of a story.

    “Is this what gout feels like?”–a favorite line

    train-whistle

    February 16, 2013 at 3:19 am

    • Thank you. I’m not sure where that line came from. These characters were definitely fighting to be heard.

      Sarah Ann

      February 16, 2013 at 9:25 pm

  7. LOL both stories made me laugh
    but this : “Is this what gout feels like?” is so damn funny ^^ haha

    kz

    February 16, 2013 at 6:14 am

  8. Very funny. Both made me laugh but the first one more. Well done.

    Sandra

    February 16, 2013 at 9:28 am

    • Very pleased to have made you laugh. It’s not something that comes easily/ I think of first. Your humorous tales always get me, so to have done the same to you makes me really happy. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      February 16, 2013 at 9:29 pm

  9. If they can’t take a joke the heck with ’em. Fun take on the prompt.

    rochellewisoff

    February 16, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Thanks, Rochelle. If only I knew the jokes he’s been playing….

      Sarah Ann

      February 16, 2013 at 9:30 pm

  10. Your first story was very surreal. His mind was spinning and it seemed very real… almost frightening. The second was fun, kind of like ‘life’s a bitch’… I liked the ‘bronze dust over the transporter’ line…

    tedstrutz

    February 16, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    • Hi Ted. I read both to hubby and he wasn’t convinced on the first one – he doesn’t do surreal – and thanks for the label, as I was struggling to place it. I’m very happy it felt real. I really didn’t know what I was doing this week so many thanks for letting me know.

      Sarah Ann

      February 17, 2013 at 10:53 am

      • Sometimes good work takes a struggle. The biggest struggle is sometimes over one word.

        tedstrutz

        February 18, 2013 at 8:31 am

  11. Spreading bronze dust on the transporter. Love that. Nice work

    H.L. Pauff (@HLPauff)

    February 17, 2013 at 12:03 am

    • Thanks. I’m happy that line worked. I worried it was a bit understated. The reader needs to know what I’m talking about.

      Sarah Ann

      February 17, 2013 at 10:49 am

  12. Very interesting takes on the prompt.
    I liked them both. Even though I don’t watch star trek I enjoyed the second one.
    I am curious how the protagonist would overcome either of the predicaments.

    Parul

    February 17, 2013 at 4:08 am

    • Hi Parul, Thankfully we only get 100 words so I don’t have to worry about what happens next. But now you’ve got me thinking.

      Sarah Ann

      February 17, 2013 at 10:47 am

  13. The Star Trek one got more action into less word. But I think I prefer the first one which has more mystery in it. The inner monologue is effective in both.

    Björn Rudberg (brudberg)

    February 17, 2013 at 11:50 am

  14. Hilarious! My favourite was the Star Trek one – especially the bronze dust on the transporter – both protagonists need new (nicer) friends!

    elappleby

    February 17, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    • Or maybe the protagonist needs to be nicer to his friends. Really glad you enjoyed them.

      Sarah Ann

      February 17, 2013 at 2:22 pm

  15. Earthbound is a great title!
    I was relieved to read in the second one that the effect wears off

    Abraham

    February 18, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    • Thanks, Abraham. Maybe when the effect wears off my MC will try to behave himself. Then again…

      Sarah Ann

      February 20, 2013 at 1:28 pm

  16. someone is in big trouble – and it doesn’t seem to be the first time. well done.

    rich

    February 19, 2013 at 3:53 am


Leave a Reply

