Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Trifecta: Week 64 – Love Hurts

with 11 comments

Hmm, I had difficulty with this week’s Trifecta Writing Challege. Needless to say, in order to get something down, I went for short and (not so) sweet.

 

The challenge:

To write a creative response using the given word, which must be included.

The response must be between 33 and 333 words and must use the 3rd definition of the given word.

Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.

 

The prompt:

DWELL

1 : to remain for a time
2 a : to live as a resident
   b : exist, lie

 

 

Love Hurts (33-words)

I am stone. My heart withered.

You couldn’t speak without spitting acid. “Snap out of it. Don’t dwell.”

You lambasted me with my inadequacies.

Poisoned thoughts spread now in the silence between us.

 

 

Written by Sarah Ann

February 14, 2013 at 7:44 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh,am heart broken reading this short piece!Pointing out someone’s inadequacies does not augur well for a relationship-sad that some people are so insensitive.Hearts of stone -a defense to keep from getting hurt I believe.What a great last line:-)

    atrm61

    February 14, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    • I hope your heart has mended! I hadn’t thought of a heart of stone as defensive. Thanks for a new POV.

      Sarah Ann

      February 15, 2013 at 7:33 pm

      • :-)Thk u-hearts don’t really heal-do they?But one learns to cope & live AND smile.Have been blessed with a happy heart-so no issues there:-)

        atrm61

        February 16, 2013 at 8:23 pm

  2. You do well with “short.” I liked this, especially that last line. It’s very sensory.

    SBhealy (@SBhealy)

    February 14, 2013 at 11:40 pm

  3. Sad yet very well written.

    deanabo

    February 15, 2013 at 3:28 am

    • Thanks, Deana. I was in a bit of a sad place when I wrote it. Mustn’t let my emotions overtake me.

      Sarah Ann

      February 15, 2013 at 9:45 pm

  4. This is heartbreaking ): The emotion really shows through. Great job!

    Draug419

    February 15, 2013 at 5:13 am

    • Thanks, Draug. I think I prefer your more uplifting story.

      Sarah Ann

      February 15, 2013 at 9:42 pm

  5. Last line is brutal.

    KymmInBarcelona

    February 15, 2013 at 11:49 am

    • Thanks. It’s odd that the last line flags up as it was almost an afterthought. The muse/ mood was obviously working through me.

      Sarah Ann

      February 15, 2013 at 9:44 pm


Leave a Reply

