Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Trifextra Challenge: Week 52 – A Door Speaks

with 18 comments

This weekend, Trifrecta are sending us back to English 101 to revisit the concept of literary devices. They wanted a 33-word example of personification

“It’s the practice of attaching human traits and characteristics with inanimate objects, phenomena and animals (http://literary-devices.com).  It’s when the wind howls, the car door grunts, and the front porch shrugs its shoulders under the weight of its own history.”

 

Having read some of the other entries, I’m not sure I’ve met the brief, but hey ho:

 

door

 

Closed, I’m invisible yet see all.

Kicked open, I bruise.

Leant against, I feel love.

Swung on, l scream.

Left gaping, I bore with the view of wall.

Knock! I’ll welcome you in.

 

 

 \

Written by Sarah Ann

January 27, 2013 at 5:07 pm

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you’ve got it perfectly! Well done!

    deanabo

    January 27, 2013 at 5:56 pm

  2. Nice! *knocks* 🙂

    Dawn Lamond

    January 27, 2013 at 6:08 pm

  3. seek and ye shall find – knock and it shall be opened. 🙂 Well done thou trusty door! 🙂

    barbara

    January 27, 2013 at 6:09 pm

  4. This is almost like a riddle. It’s really cool!

    Draug419

    January 27, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    • I wasn’t sure the riddle thing didn’t detract, but I couldn’t get it to work anyway. Glad you like it!

      Sarah Ann

      January 27, 2013 at 8:12 pm

  5. Aww,this is so lovely-“Kicked open, I bruise.

    Leant against, I feel love.”-great lines & the last line-oh,so full of warmth-loved this Sarah:-)

    atrm61

    January 27, 2013 at 9:16 pm

  6. This is great. Leant against I feel love… very nice.

    steph

    January 27, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    • The riddle structure does, in no way, shape or form, detract from the poetry of you images. They are all paintings with words. Excellent effort! Loved it all! Knock! Knock! 🙂

      Cobbie's World

      January 27, 2013 at 11:18 pm

  7. Seems alright to me! Nice one!

    joetwo

    January 27, 2013 at 10:14 pm

  8. I really like this! Great take on personification – wonderfully written!

    Suzanne

    January 27, 2013 at 11:07 pm

  9. A very nice riddle it is!

    kymminbarcelona

    January 27, 2013 at 11:46 pm

  10. Very lyrical. I especially like the end.

    gretchenfogelstrom

    January 28, 2013 at 1:57 am

  11. You did great! 🙂

    cshowers

    January 28, 2013 at 7:40 am

  12. I liked this very much.

    Amelia

    January 28, 2013 at 9:17 am

  13. Poor wall! He’s so boring!

    IntarsiaJones

    January 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm


Leave a Reply

