Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

New Year, New Project & Third Draft Update

with 6 comments

Sticking to the discipline of 100-word stories for Friday Fictioneers has given me the idea for a new manuscript – working title, A Year in 200 Words. Each day I will write a 200-word diary entry for a character as yet to be fleshed out. By the end of the year I will have 73000 words and a book. Well, that’s the idea anyway. The bones of the entries will come from events on the news, be influenced by the weather, and reflect to some extent what people around me are doing. The muscle will come from the character her- or himself.

I started on New Year’s Eve with a genderless, ageless voice. Ten days in, I’ve written 200-words every day during breakfast, and my diarist is starting to tell her own story. (At least I think she’s a she. She might still turn out to be a he.) She has a niece (I think) called Jess and a few friends. She lives in a cottage in a village by a river and has a mother who lives somewhere in London. She drives but likes walking and listens to the radio a lot. I still don’t know what she does for money, how old she is, or much about her love life. What will happen to her through the year is unknown, but I think it’s going to be fun finding out.

And on the third draft….

After time off during December, I am back to editing the third draft of my still title-less WIP. I am over halfway through and the end is in sight. All being well I’ll be done by the end of this month. (How many times have I said that?) I have added another two names to my list of potential beta-readers (which gives me a total of five), but still have to ask if they are all willing. I have no doubt the latest two will be able to adopt the right level of critical analysis. I am not ready to subject this draft to my sister-in-law’s book group, as she generously suggested. I need feedback from people I know, in order to refine/ give up completely/ compose a fourth draft, before I submit anything to the scutiny of people I don’t know.

Written by Sarah Ann

January 10, 2013 at 6:35 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Sarah Ann,
    Hell hath no fury like a scorned . . . double bass. Jealously is always an interesting emotion to explore. Good one. Ron

    bridgesareforburning

    January 12, 2013 at 1:55 am

  2. 200 words a day. Interesting. And simple (not necessarily easy) way to write a book!
    All the best!

    Abraham

    January 15, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    • Hi Abraham,
      All I can say is that it’s a level of daily writing I’ve managed to stick to for three weeks. I’m planning to edit each month as I go so the story will make sense. At least I’ll be able to identify themes and follow them up. I discovered this week my main character is in love…

      Sarah Ann

      January 20, 2013 at 12:09 am

      • and just before Valentine’s Day too 🙂

        Abraham

        January 21, 2013 at 10:13 am

      • Oh dear. I hadn’t thought of that – what’s Valentine’s Day again? You’re putting ideas in my head now, which is all to the good! 🙂

        Sarah Ann

        January 21, 2013 at 8:14 pm

  3. […] first two months of A Year in 200 Words have been collated and printed. I’ve read through chapter one and, once I’ve made the initial […]


Leave a Reply

