Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Water, water, every where…

with one comment

Editing continues slowly but surely. Chapter 3 was, previously, a small chapter I was pleased with. Now it’s a small chapter I’m not sure about. My head is all over the place and I really want to get this edit done so I can circulate the manuscript to some willing readers for their feedback. I’m halfway through Chapter 5 (so far, so good) and now enrolled on another intensive study course, so work on the third draft is moving slower than a drunken snail.

This time I’m working towards my European Computer Driver Licence – don’t ask why they call it that. There is an awful lot of revision of what I already know (and repetition in the course materials), but I am learning new stuff. I’ve also been thinking about enrolling on a CELTA course and am in the middle of the pre-interview task. Anyone for the present continuous? Naming grammatical objects was doable; anything other than a simple tense, I’m bamboozled by. Yet, re-reading this paragraph I’ve realised I just used the present continuous – I’ve been thinking. So there you go.

The dim and dismal weather is causing light issues, which in turn causes power issues – cloud is no good for charging batteries via solar panels. But the wind has been up, causing the wind generator to howl like an incontinent ghost as it trickle charges. The sun showed its face briefly on Thursday and Sunday.

 

The Sun, 22/11/12

 

Sunday morning, 3am, hubby and I donned waterproofs and life jackets to go outside to re-pin the boat after the wind blew her stern out. The ground is very wet (i.e., a marsh) and the pins didn’t hold. Thankfully, the bow pins are longer and firmer so we didn’t float off down river and hit the steel road bridge half a mile behind us. Since then the river has continued to rise and we’re in wellies, as the paths beyond the meadow are 6-inches under water. Our friendly mooring inspector has provided us with scaffolding poles to drive into the riverbed just in case the water overtops. Today we’ve twisted in ground spikes to add to the pins to stop us floating away.

Thanks to Samuel Taylor Coleridge and The Rime of the Ancient Mariner for my title.

Written by Sarah Ann

November 27, 2012 at 9:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oops, I should have included a link to a ground spike/ ground anchor so you can see the difference from a standard pin:

    http://www.spyrabase.co.uk/product_info.php?ID=10018

    Sarah Ann

    November 28, 2012 at 8:30 pm


Leave a Reply

