Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

#FridayFictioneers – 16/11/12 – Untitled

with 19 comments

Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for another great photo prompt for writers to create 100-words about.

Sean Fallon’s picture this week made me smile and I immediately thought of a title: Full of Beans. My story was going to be fun. Hey ho, I didn’t get further than the title on that one. Then I came up with a question: ‘Why collect batteries in a jar?’ and my not so cheerful story developed.

Have a look at what others of the Friday Fictioneers have made of the photo here:

 

Copyight Sean Fallon

It was the last place I came to, the last place I wanted to clear, the essence of him.

The shelves in the shed were lined with them: jar after jar of empty batteries; colourful carapaces left over once the energy was spent.

I’d asked him once. ‘Granddad, why do you keep all your dead batteries?’

‘Each one had a life, or gave something else life. It’s a shame to just throw them away.’

Granddad died six months ago. I’ve been clearing the house slowly since, putting off the day when I had to deal with those used up cells.

Written by Sarah Ann

November 16, 2012 at 10:40 pm

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So sad – there seems to be a parallel between the batteries that have reached the end of their lives and Granddad, doesn’t there?

    newpillowbook

    November 16, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    • Yep, dead batteries and a dead granddad. Hopefully, I’ll manage something more cheerful next week.

      Sarah Ann

      November 18, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  2. Hi Sarah Ann,
    Very nice metaphor. Batteries are a lot like life itself, strong when new, weak when old. still there even when lifeless. Nice job. Ron

    bridgesareforburning

    November 17, 2012 at 3:48 am

  3. Heart-wrenching story. Reminds me of when I had to clean out mom’s apartment when she went into a nursing home. It was one of the most emotional and painful things I ever had to do, knowing she would never see her things again…things that gave her joy, contentment and happiness.

    lora13mit

    November 17, 2012 at 10:14 am

    • Thank you for the comment Lora. It can’t be easy clearing away after someone you love. Everything holds so many memories. I’m glad it touched you.

      Sarah Ann

      November 18, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  4. Good word–carapace. I had to look it up. I see that as a god thing. A poignant story. Funny the things people collect. My husband’s aunt had a mammoth collection of salt and pepper shakers. I’m not sure where they all went when she passed away

    rochellewisoff

    November 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    • The colours of the batteries suggested beetles all squashed up together which is where the carapace idea came from. And it is strange what people collect. At least salt and pepper shakers are useful, even if you can only use one pair at a time. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      November 18, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  5. Very sad, and still the memories we tie to things, isn’t it strange?

    brudberg

    November 17, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    • I will try hard to be light and fluffy next week. I didn’t want to be sad. Granddad was a great guy.

      Sarah Ann

      November 18, 2012 at 8:28 pm

  6. I love that the shed was the essence of him – most of us have those places, even if it is just a drawer – go through the contents and you might be able to sum up a life. The batteries were a lovely metaphor. I used something similar in my piece.

    claireful

    November 17, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    • Thank you! Drawers, pencil cases, button and sewing boxes – so many memories for the person that owned and filled them that those of us ferreting through later can only imagine.

      Sarah Ann

      November 18, 2012 at 8:30 pm

  7. interesting things sometimes represent interesting people.

    rich

    November 17, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    • They do. I imagine Granddad was really interesting. I’m hoping I can learn more about him through a subsequent prompt. If you’ve got any thoughts on what he did with his life, let me know.

      Sarah Ann

      November 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      • that thought sparked an idea for me to write a post about my grandfather. thanks for the idea.

        rich

        November 18, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      • Looking forward to reading about him/ you and him. I didn’t have granddads, at least they were both dead before I was born, so it’s a relationship I only ever experience vicariously.

        Sarah Ann

        November 19, 2012 at 7:00 pm

      • then i’ll try to make it really good.

        rich

        November 19, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  8. A touching tale. Nice work!

    Tom Poet

    November 19, 2012 at 3:07 am


Leave a Reply

