Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Editing has recommenced

with 8 comments

On second thoughts, perhaps that should read the next re-write of my book has started. Leaving something alone for months, looking again with fresh eyes, only ever helps to pick out the turgid and dire. The openings of chapters 1 and 2 are so slow and tedious. If I’m bored, then so will everyone else be. I don’t think it helps that my story is about a young woman dying and I have just attended the memorial service for a female friend who died much too young. My emotions are only just under control and my inner critic has been rampaging across the pages, blue scribble pen in hand. I was so bogged down in the corrections to Chapter 1 on Friday (trying to work out what the blue pen was telling me to keep and what to shed) that I skipped forward to chapter 2.

I wonder sometimes if I should just give up. I had thought about attempting NaNoWriMo. The characters in my current story have another tale to tell – it’s a couple of years later and aged parents become the focus. With the characters and geography in place, and the bare bones of the plot in my head, I could attempt to free-write my way to a second book-length tale. Or maybe I should do one thing at a time and finish editing this first story.

It’s wet; the river is flowing fast and moving looks problematic; hubby has been set the first essay of his new course and the boat is screaming with silence as he reads and make notes. I have no excuses for not getting on…

But before I do, Start the Week on BBC Radio 4 this morning had a discussion about hand-writing – is it dying; is it better to print to edit or edit on-screen; do we still write letters or stick to email? Click and listen to learn how Diana Athill, Wendy Cope, Philip Hensher and Nigel Warburton go about their writing.

Written by Sarah Ann

October 8, 2012 at 12:11 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I want to start by telling you that I am a freelance editor so my opinion may be a bit skewed but…as an editor, I would suggest not starting on the second book during NaNoWriMo ( I am a huge fan of nano and always push for people to try it). But, starting on the next book in the series can actually hurt your revisions for your first book. I would say “yes” to NaNo but “no” to starting the next book in your series. I would work on something completely different to clear your head and your revisions, once you come back to your first book, will be amazing.

    hghtashbry

    October 9, 2012 at 4:29 am

    • Thanks for the advice. I was slightly concerened that I might mix up the characters’ timelines if I was working on their two stories at once. Now I just have to come up with a new idea for NaNoWriMo. 🙂

      Sarah Ann

      October 9, 2012 at 12:30 pm

  2. Hi Sarah Ann,
    Fun story, especially the boys’ mischief. Strong metaphor and simile here. Lots of nicely turned phrases. Ron

    bridgesareforburning

    October 13, 2012 at 1:17 am

  3. Enjoyed the dialogue betw. these two boys. Evidently, in their little world, they are curious about planes and flying. Wonder what other mischief they are planning? Nice work.

    Lora

    October 13, 2012 at 6:35 am

    • Thanks Lora. I think the boys might be on their best behaviour for a little while now. 😉

      Sarah Ann

      October 13, 2012 at 11:05 am

  4. Loved the dustbin lids. I wonder if they had towels tied around their necks to make them super heroes.

    rochellewisoff

    October 13, 2012 at 11:37 am

    • I hadn’t thought that far ahead, but I think you might be on to something. Thanks Rochelle.

      Sarah Ann

      October 13, 2012 at 7:53 pm


Leave a Reply

