Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Writing, just not editing

leave a comment »

With hubby home from college, writing has to be squeezed into each day. The editing I had embarked upon before the summer is waiting for him to go back to study. Writing and editing fiction takes more space and concentration than anything else. I need to move into my characters’ world to understand their thoughts and motivations, to know what happens next, and I’m not good at making the transition in short bursts. In the meantime, I have been writing. I’ve drafted some press articles for a friend organising an art and craft market later in the year. I’ve designed a couple of lessons for my teaching course, and am half way through writing a dummy personal statement as part of my summer homework. And I’ve been tweaking the spiel on our jewellery website. All of it takes less time and brainwork, but I am keeping my hand in and editing hard to make things concise, succinct and easily understood.

 

We have just spent a great week in Oxford on the boat. At the Ashmolean, in a room full of Dutch still-life paintings, I discovered a new colour – lobster orange. It was evident in many of the beautiful mediaeval religious pieces on show at Christ Church Picture Gallery. And, for the first time (it’s always been closed before), we went to the History of Science Museum where the craft and workmanship in the equipment on display was exquisite. There is so much to see and do in the city, something new around each corner, and we’re looking forward to struggling back up river next year, or the one after, to peruse the sights we missed this time. But, at the moment, we’re enjoying the thrill of heading downstream at speed.

 

Written by Sarah Ann

August 19, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Leave a Reply

