Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

The best laid schemes

leave a comment »

Some days, things just don’t go according to plan. I had thought that once I reached the sections of the manuscript that I’d scribbled on, life would get easier. It hasn’t. If anything, the editing process has got harder.

A note at the top of Chapter 7 tells me I thought it had ‘awful pace’ when I read it last October. I still think it does. Starting at page one this morning, I started to type in the notes I’d made on paper. This resulted in a couple of new paragraphs, which made two further down the page redundant and other hand written edits superfluous. I think the first page of the chapter now reads okay. I have six more to go and my brain is crying out for a rest.

Despite my good intentions of a few posts back, I have made no progress with any short stories either. It seems my writing-brain can carry only so much at any one time. At the moment it is full with Pippa’s story and nothing else can squeeze in.

The solar heater is still a work in progress.

The trapped swan finally moved out after a black Labrador skidded off the meadow and fell on him.

I need to focus.

Written by Sarah Ann

March 7, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

