Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

Time for reflection

with 2 comments

Today I went backwards. After finishing off chapter 12, and hopefully being nearly two-thirds through my book, it was time to reflect, to read though the middle section and fix the glaring errors. It’s New Year’s Eve in the story and it’s necessary for me to take stock along with my characters.

I want to make sure I carry all the necessary ideas through to the last section and bin the superfluous flights of fancy. As I did with chapters 1 to 6 (then to remind myself what my story and characters were all about) so I will do with 7 to 12. I have cut and pasted all into one big document that I’ll print and read over the next few days. With only a pen to hand, I’ll scribble all over the manuscript making notes about minor edits, major chunks to be cut, and additional suggestions for later consideration. Now is not the time for a root and branch change of anything. That can come at the end, once the story is completed. (The hard copies of chapters 1-6 are sitting in a drawer, the hand written scribble patiently waiting to be acted upon.)

Once all the ideas are exhausted and the story is told it will be time to cut through the jungle of words with a machete, and hopefully end up with more than a tangle of twigs left at the end. For now, all I need is to find the straight path through the forest without taking too many other distracting or interesting turnings.

Wargrave, 290911

On the boating front, summer has ended for a second time and we’re back to a usual UK autumn – grey, damp, miserable. It isn’t damp inside but some of the ancient wooden furniture is taking on a mildewy bloom. We’ll have to light the fire soon for its benefit rather than our own.

As I’m looking backwards generally, here’s a photo of more cheerful early morning on the Thames last week.

Written by Sarah Ann

October 5, 2011 at 2:29 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still struggle with that part. Instead of a machete @ times it feels like I just have a butter knife 🙂

    taureanw

    October 5, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    • Mmm. A butter knife might be more useful – it depends how much story I’m left with at the end.

      Sarah Ann

      October 7, 2011 at 1:40 pm


Leave a Reply

