Sarah Ann Hall

Reporting on writing in progress or, more probably, not.

A good day for spiders’ webs

with 2 comments

Hubby went off this morning in a fog. Having moved the boat a little way, the walk to the car was less of a trek and we had time to admire the thousands of dew laden spiders’ and cobwebs. A friend told me the difference between the two recently and I think it goes like this – the big showy ones are spiders’ webs and the blanket-under-an-apple-tree type are cobwebs. After seeing hubby off, I thought I’d take a moment to attempt to record some of the better ones.

When we bought our digital SLR five years ago we thought it was a good idea to go for one powered by AA batteries. Never again would we be caught out due to lack of charge. Oh, how wrong we were. Fresh Duracells work for all of about five shots before the camera dies and so we rely on rechargeable AAs, which hold enough charge for about a day. There are fantastic dew-laden webs to be captured, the sun’s getting stronger, and I’m waiting for batteries to charge. Thankfully the batteries are easily fooled and after five minutes they think they’re full so I’m able to snap for ten. Of course all the great webs were the other end of the walk, strung between the struts of the footbridge, but I haven’t got battery or sun time enough to get back there. These pictures, taken within 100-yards of the boat, will have to do.

Candy floss in a tree.

Spun sugar?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After that it was time to write, write, write, which I have. I’ve cobbled together about 3000-words and now need to go off and do something else. I seem to run out of steam mid-afternoon before my second wind blows in. I’ll check email for half an hour and see if that’s long enough for the creative juices to thicken.

Written by Sarah Ann

September 28, 2011 at 2:00 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Neat pictures. That battery thing is a common complaint with digital cameras, I have the same problem. I hope your second wind blew in, I enjoyed your post.

    Neeks

    September 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    • Thanks for your positive comments. It’s good to know someone likes what I write. I’ve been looking at your blog and you must be exhausted! I’m putting a link on here so other people can find it and admire what you do with three little words.

      Sarah Ann

      October 5, 2011 at 2:10 pm


Leave a Reply

